Rolling into the next four months with Project 333

I started the year with intentionally living. Focusing on what was around me. What I wanted to accomplished in the next four month. Being intentional with how I spent my time and at the end of the four months know some major things were completed. I have less than a week left and I can say “not bad”. Now to regroup and set my intention for the next four months.

I’m always looking for book recommendations and jotting them down. I think I found Project 333 through a blog post.  I started reading the book and thought yeah this makes sense. This is a project I want to take on.

Summery of Project 333 is for three months you only wear 33 items of clothing/shoes/accessories.  This includes jewelry and pursues. What you don’t have to include is underwear, sleepwear or workout clothes. Thank goodness.  Check out the site for all the details. I read the book as I’m old school.

So what better intention to take on for the next four months than Project 333. I’m giving myself a month to get the summer clothes out, sorted and what I’m not wearing put away. The month of May can be dicey here I wouldn’t call is necessarily summer weather. Courtney Carver, author, recommends not giving your stuff away (yet!!) but getting it out of the closet and sight.

My plan is to put tops that are not part of my 33 items all in one drawer and leave them. I’m also boxing up jewelry – I have a dresser covered with items. At this point I figure maybe two sets of earrings. Nothing else as I want to make sure I have enough tops and pants. I know runners, jacket, backpack and sandals are on my list.

It doesn’t seem as daunting as it could be as only for three months. Plus I don’t have to have winter and summer clothes together as part of my 33 items. So no boots or winter coat needed. Courtney say to be flexible. Just because someone has X many pants on their list doesn’t mean you have to. The book gave winter/spring/summer/fall lists of what various people had as their 33 items. It was interesting as one person had way more jewelry and scarves than I thought you would need. She was doing her which was great and what it is all about.

Project 333 also talks about living with less. That enough is enough. When we start with our closets and challenge ourselves there to live with less (33 items), that it can trickle down to other areas. We start to realize we can live with less stuff in our homes. Stuff that is weighing us down. See my closet! I can do this. It can be the start of freeing ourselves of stuff. Less consumerism. We don’t shop as we have enough. We realize that maybe shopping was filling a void. Instant gratification anyone? That we have enough and can concentrate on what bring us joy without stress. Nature, reading, writing, crafts the list goes on.

So May I make my list, get my stuff out and put the rest away. Giving myself May as it can still be a bit cool here for capris and a t-shirt. I will keep you posted on my 33 items. If you want to join check out the website, read the book and do it. It would be great to have accountabilities partners to check in with.

Deep breath Project 333.

3 thoughts on “Rolling into the next four months with Project 333

  1. Wanda Mulley

    What a great idea. I read a book years ago about only keeping the clothes you wear over and over again. I didn’t really live that way until I moved into a house with one bedroom and no closets. I still tend to be heavy on the hoodies but I bet I could live in 33 items of clothes. My uniform of late always seems to be a pair of LuLus, a tank and a hoodie 😄 . I’ve gone from fashion to comfort…

    Like

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Doing my Project 333 | Setting Our Intentions

Leave a comment